5.1 “Er… Lord?”

Short Meditations in Psalms: 5.1    Er….. Lord?

Psa 5:1   Give ear to my words, O LORD, consider my sighing.

It seems a number of David’s psalms start out in the same way and the temptation is to skip over the parts that are familiar but as they say, familiarity breeds contempt, and I will not be contemptuous of God’s word. Yes, we need to meditate again and again on it – even if it appears to be similar ground.

I am aware that I am a typical husband. I have my mind full of thoughts, things of the day and then my wife starts sharing something on her heart and I think I am listening but my mind is somewhere else. Some time later reference is made to the conversation and she says, “But I told you,” and I look blankly at her and meekly say, “Did you?”

I can remember many years ago when I was witnessing to my mother in her late fifties, she had a bad cough and I suggested she ask Him to heal her of it. She replied, “Oh no dear, I couldn’t do that, He must have far many more important things to worry about than my cough.”  Well actually God doesn’t worry about anything and the incredible thing is that, being God, He can hear and take in all the cries of millions of His children at the same moment. (In the fullness of time she did ask Him and, yes, He did heal her!)

For a variety of reasons many of us feel a large measure of deference when it comes to going to God and asking Him for things. This psalm is quite strange really because it is only when you get near the end of it that you come to see what is worrying David. It’s like he holds back. From his other psalms we know he has no problem with pouring out his heart to the Lord but here he seems to go round the houses, if I may use that expression, before getting to the point.

I wonder if we are like that, a little bit reticent about asking the Lord for help. Normally we wait until we are in a real mess before we ask but a sign of a mature relationship with the Lord is, I suggest, a willingness to bring anything and everything to Him.

When he says,  Give ear to my words, O LORD,” it feels like he is saying, “Lord, Lord, please, do you mind if I interrupt whatever else you might be doing and will you pay attention to my mumblings for you can see the sense of weariness that I have.” That’s how I see it. The Message version has it, “Listen, God! Please, pay attention! Can you make sense of these ramblings, my groans and cries,” but my sense of it is that David isn’t that strong with the Lord. This isn’t an all out cry to be heard; it’s more like what many of us feel, like my Mum, He’s really too busy and doesn’t want to be bothered with my small problems. Well if you are His child, yes He is concerned and yes He does want to hear from you, so go and talk to Him now.

Leave a Reply

