6.6 A Weeping Wreck

Short Meditations in Psalms: 6.6 A Weeping Wreck

Psa 6:6  I am worn out from groaning; all night long I flood my bed with weeping and drench my couch with tears.

I do not mean to sound a grumbling grouch when I speak about the school of ‘victorious Christians’ because I believe in victory in Christ, except I also believe in a reality in the Christian faith. I have come across and still know those Christians who are always exuberant and never have a problem in the world and always appear full of faith and glory – except it is a charade. Yes, I believe it should be like that much of the time but realism says a) this is a Fallen World where things go wrong and b) we still struggle against sin and c) we are also involved in a battle with a real enemy, and it is often tough.

In fact I also have another complaint against the ‘always joyful’ Christian and that is they neither sense the anguish of the world nor the heart of the Lord that wants more for His Church. You see the more I look at this psalm the more I believe it is not merely a physical thing but a soul and spirit anguish thing. When David later talks about his enemies, I find it very hard to believe his anguish was akin to fear. This is the man who as a young shepherd fought and killed bears and lions. This is the young man who killed a giant called Goliath, this is the man who was an army commander and had great victories. This sort of man doesn’t cringe in the face of physical enemy attack.

No, there is something else we know about this man and that he was described as a man after God’s own heart (1 Sam 13:14, Acts 13:22) which meant that this was a man who anguished over the death of Saul and Jonathan (see 2 Sam 1), this was a man who anguished when his own warriors killed other noble men (2 Sam 3:38,39)

We will see in the remaining verses that twice David mentions his enemies and very clearly they are the cause of his anguish but, from the reasons given above, I maintain that this anguish is soul and spirit anguish because of the spiritual threat by these enemies. Again and again the people of Israel joined the surrounding nations in worshipping idols and foreign God and this – whether the threat came from within his own country and the people of Israel, or came from outside the country from pagans inhabitants – this, I would suggest, is the primary cause for David’s anguish here.

All that remains is for us to observe the depth of his anguish. Physically he feels shattered: “I am worn out from groaning,” and it is an anguish that is unrelenting that goes on and on even into the night: “all night long I flood my bed with weeping,” and it is all out – “and drench my couch with tears.”  When we were last moved to tears by the state of the lost, or the state of the Church say?

Leave a Reply

